Should a draw in a title fight between a ranked boxer and the title holder call for an automatic mandatory next fight must be the rematch?
If the title holder refuses the rematch should he have to give up the belt?
What about if the fight is a draw should they fight 1 more round to decide the fight?
So that there can be clear champion?
I like these two better then a plain draw.
ESPN experimented with the 13th Round idea when they used to have their own ESPN titles during the Eighties. The ESPN title was kind of looked at as something akin to a NABF or USBA title,not a World Title but a stepping stone type Belt.
Anyway,before they announced the Decision,they'd tell the Corners to NOT Cut off the Gloves,just in case a 13th was neccesary,and they told the Judges that they HAD to make a perference on the 13th,you couldn't score it Even. It happend two or three times that a 13th was neccesary and it always made for a great Round with both guys laying it all on the line.
I recall one time they interviewed THE LOSER and he said that even though he'd lost the 13th(and thus the fight itself),he STILL prefered it to going home with a Draw.
Several fans on other Forums I've been on have said they didn't care much for those old 13th Rounds on ESPN and that a fight is simply a Draw and you changed the dynamic by asking a extra round from someone who might've "let it all hang out" in the 12th and thus had nothing left. I totally disagree,and I can't imagine any fighter prefering to go home with a Draw instead of deciding it then and there. Like I said,it happened at least three times that I remember,maybe more,and I never once heard a guy complain after losing the extra stanza.