Boxing Forum - Boxing Discussion Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got my amateur passport a couple of weeks ago and am eager to compete/get my ass kicked. I turned 35 in June...anyone else here competing at the master's level?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Sorry, I dont have answers to your question but where can I find more information of those divisions?

I am still a newb but I would love to fight in those divisions one day.

Thanks!

·
Registered
8 Posts
I got my amateur passport a couple of weeks ago and am eager to compete/get my ass kicked. I turned 35 in June...anyone else here competing at the master's level?
I had one masters fight. Lost a decision. (Of course I thought I won! lol). I for sure landed the harder punches but the other guy threw about a kazillion more than me.

You have to be in great shape. My style doesn't fit well with the amateur style. I just didn't throw enough punches. I wasn't in good enough shape anyway. Had a pretty bad injury I was recovering from.

The big thing is you gotta train like you are going to fight. You have to be very busy. The more punches you land, the more points you get.

In some masters fights they wear 16 oz gloves. For my fight we wore 12 oz.

It is hard to find other masters boxers, depending on where you live. The biggest masters tournament is at the Ringside Tournament held each year.

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
darren: If you go to usaboxing.org they should have some info. Also, check out Masters Boxing Division

oldfrt71: Thanks for sharing the experience. Yeah, I'm working on getting in shape. My coache's workouts are killer, I hope that my cardio will be decent by the time I get in the ring.

·
Registered
8 Posts
darren: If you go to usaboxing.org they should have some info. Also, check out Masters Boxing Division