Boxing Forum - Boxing Discussion Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody, since I'm planning on joining a gym in a few months, I've got a quick question about nutrition. I work as a tile setter, so on some days I have to drive 2 hours both ways to get to a job site, and then work an 8-10 hour day. So after a quick breakfast and a packed lunch, I sometimes don't have time to have a proper dinner, and often just grab some takeout on the road. What I was wondering, is fast food every once in a while going to completely destroy a training regiment? In these situations would it be better to skip dinner altogether?

·
Mental Midget
4,170 Posts
Its never better to skip dinner altogether. You need to get some nutrients in you.

While fast food isnt a good idea (it usually contains ALOT of calories and fat) if there isnt another option, than its ok to do every now and again. I would at least mix it up. Go to a WAWA or 7eleven or Sheetz or equivalent in your location, and get a fresh sandwich made instead of a greasy burger and fries. Most of these places have egg salad, tuna fish, chicken salad, etc which can all deliver some better protein and nutrients. Plus you can grab some fruit or a health bar for a snack there.

In short though, it wont kill your workout regimen, but one thing you WILL notice, is that eating fast food provides you with less energy. I've noticed this in my workouts and sports sessions. When I eat healthier, Im able to perform at a higher level and more consistently.

·
Registered
221 Posts
Most fast-food places have alternatives now to their usual greesy menu. Look into those. I have the same problem, and I have found stuff just about everywhere that you can eat without plunging your arteries with fat.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the advice guys.

I'll try to stick to the healthier choices such as Subway, Tim Hortons, and stuff like that.