Boxing Forum - Boxing Discussion Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been kickboxing for 7 years now and just recently got into boxing because of a friend of mine. I really enjoy it and have sparred twice, and I was looking for some suggestions and pointers to help me adapt better. btw, i'm a southpaw

1. how can i improve my footwork (right now i jump rope and shadowbox but my feet still felt awkward)? any tips? i've been told to make sure that my right foot stays on the outside of my partner's left to line up my left cross better.

2. DEFENSE. in kickboxing i used my lead front kick to prevent people from stepping in and then countered with my hands. i also haven't used a whole lot of slipping because that tends to leave your lead leg open or your face open for a kick. any tips on improving slipping (besides bobbing and weaving under the rope). any other defensive advise would be appreciated.

3. setting up angles/punches. i'm pretty good at flowing from kicks to punches and vice versa to set up angles and power shots. i feel very lost in trying to come up with combos that put me in a good position to land a clean hit (that might also have to do with my footwork), so any tips would be great!

thanks!

·
Registered
4,432 Posts
I've been kickboxing for 7 years now and just recently got into boxing because of a friend of mine. I really enjoy it and have sparred twice, and I was looking for some suggestions and pointers to help me adapt better. btw, i'm a southpaw

1. how can i improve my footwork (right now i jump rope and shadowbox but my feet still felt awkward)? any tips? i've been told to make sure that my right foot stays on the outside of my partner's left to line up my left cross better.