Boxing Forum - Boxing Discussion Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,912 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
By Mark Vester

World champion Joe Calzaghe is now a free agent who will promote himself under his own promotional banner. Calzageh has revealed to Michael Pearlman that he dumped lontime promoter Frank Warren and is targeting Roy Jones Jr. for his next fight. Calzaghe has been promoted by Warren for twelve-years.

TWO-WEIGHT world boxing champion Joe Calzaghe has ended his association with promoter Frank Warren and will now promote himself, the Argus can exclusively reveal.

"There has been a lot of speculation about my future. At this time I want to set the record straight and end that speculation," Calzaghe said. "I am now a free agent with no contract and intend to be self-managed from now on. I am the only person who can make negotiations for my next fight. Regarding that fight, I am not in negotiations with Kelly Pavlik, despite reports to the contrary.

"My intention is to fight Roy Jones Jr, a four-weight world champion fighter. That would be a special event for me against a legend of the sport. There are issues to be resolved with my former promoter Frank Warren and I hope they can be done so amicably."

The paper did not state what the problem is, but insiders suggest that Calzaghe is owed money from April's split-decision win over Bernard Hopkins and an internal battle has been going on for the last couple of weeks with Warren hanging the money over Joe's head in order to get him to resign a promotional deal.

Amir Khan's contract was also up last week, but he appears to be close to a new promotional agreement with Warren

·
Banned
25,672 Posts
Good for you Joe.

·
Banned
25,672 Posts
Fwank would lose his two cash cows in a week, that'd be great. LOL!

·
Premium Member
2,091 Posts
great stuff for calz. even though frank does get fights done domestically, i am happy that joe can make even more money for himself.