Boxing Forum - Boxing Discussion Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey i am totally new to boxing, i have been weight lifting for quite a while, and at a garage sale i found a motorised treadmill, and the owner told me to take it and a heavy boxing bag.
I have been messing around with the bag for about 2 - 3 weeks. I do use gloves, yet it still hurts my wrists and sometimes the knuckles, im guessing i must be punching it wrong?

Can anybody recommend me any books, dvd's or even youtube channels for the absolute beginner?

·
Registered
841 Posts
You need some wraps, wraps are what keeps your hands and wrists safe. Your best bet to learn is to get a trainer or find somebody that can show you the basics. If you don't want to do either of those, I think ringside.com has instructional vids as well as titleboxing.com w/ freddy roach. Also start watching boxing in general, observe their footwork and head movement as well as their punching technique and combos.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Absolutely get some handwraps and learn to wrap your hands. You're just screwing up your hands otherwise. If you go to youtube and do a search for heavy bag there's actually some decent instruction on there. . . and a whole lot of crap of course.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The youtube idea worked very well, i have suscribed to a channel that shows how to do everything in boxing with a heavy bag.
It shows how to practice offensive/defensive.
Footwork.
and other things i would have never thought possible.

Also, how more efficient are hand wraps compared to actual gloves?

·
Banned
1,305 Posts