Boxing Forum - Boxing Discussion Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i started lifting weights twise a week for to try to build my strenght, but iv been doing mostyl bodybuilding excersises, im lookin for a strenght training routine to perform twise a week that is benifital to my boxing

·
Registered
57 Posts
Ah, Strength training, I find it real boring. A good routine for strength training would be vest weight pull ups, vest weight pushups, vest weight sit ups, vest hindu squats or dumbell hindu squats, high weight shoulder lifts, tricep extension, weighted frog squats, deadlifts, and all that. If you must lift weights normally to build bicep, you'll have to have to shoulder muscle and an advanced back muscle spring to maintain your speed.

Routine:
Stretch for 5 mins or so.

25 pushups
25 situps
25 squats
25 wider than chest pushups
25 right angle situps
25 hindu squats
25 diamond pushups
25 right angle situps
25 leap squats
30 second plank
25 tricep pushups
30 second plank

This is my current routine 2-3x a week. And if you are just starting, you can skip the last 4. Do 3 sets, rest on a 15 count in between and a minute thirty seconds between each set. Do 1st set weightless, 2nd set weighted, preferably with a vest. 3rd set same as 2nd.

Also remember to do cardio, cardio is priority above all else. A minimum 30 minutes of running no less than 2x a week, 3x is the prefered to keep your stamina.

By the time you are finished, you will have done 750 reps. Seems a bit spartan, but it's not too bad after 2-3 weeks. I still sometimes cheat by resting a minute or two more in between sets than I should hah.

·
Registered
212 Posts
i started lifting weights twise a week for to try to build my strenght, but iv been doing mostyl bodybuilding excersises, im lookin for a strenght training routine to perform twise a week that is benifital to my boxing