Boxing Forum - Boxing Discussion Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm joining a boxing club in West Plains, Missouri, U.S., and by the sound of it, everyone knows what they're doing and they all have a ton of experience.
Besides that, I have no experience in any kind of fighting. When someone is punching me, I won't fight back (this is just in my nature). Even so, I am not very accustomed to taking punches, and I have never thrown a punch before.

I understand that I'll practice plenty before I ever fight anyone, but I doubt that practice will compare to actually being in the ring.

I think that I am in for really getting beat up big time (a lot)..;) But I may be wrong.

What do you think I'm in for?

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah, I'm just wondering if I'm being to negative about it. Is boxing really as tough as it looks? Tougher? Not as tough?

Your answer won't affect my decision to box, I'm just asking so I know what I'm getting into, so I know what to expect.

·
Premium Member
9,662 Posts
Its very tough. Don't expect to rush right in though. You will probably start out jumping rope, riding the bike, running on the tread mill, learning the jab etc. After 5-6 months it should start to pick up though, and it gets more interesting.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Heart

One thing you will have to learn is that you HAVE TO FIGHT. If you are getting into boxing, you are not going to hug the guy in the other corner. You are going to jump on him like a spider monkey and make him hurt.

Starting off is a little rough for anyone that has never had any experience. All I can say about learning about what you are supposed to do is read up on it and talk to people. It's the only way you are going to learn.

My last piece of advice, learn to punch.

A fighter that never punches is a fighter that never wins.

·
Registered
468 Posts
Mate you'll be fine.