Boxing Forum - Boxing Discussion Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be purchasing my first punching bag soon. I am a mixed martial artist. My weight is 152 and i fight at 135 5' 8". I was wondering what type of heavy bag to get, either just a standard bag or a water filled like the powair/hydrocore. And what weight of bag I should get as well. Any information would help a great deal, and since I am not strictly boxing this bag will be used to kick at as well.

·
Calvarez
7,453 Posts
I will be purchasing my first punching bag soon. I am a mixed martial artist. My weight is 152 and i fight at 135 5' 8". I was wondering what type of heavy bag to get, either just a standard bag or a water filled like the powair/hydrocore. And what weight of bag I should get as well. Any information would help a great deal, and since I am not strictly boxing this bag will be used to kick at as well.
There is a MMA board as well ;)

·
Team Mayweather
24,365 Posts
100 pounds is always the best, Not to light, not to heavy. We dont want you hurting you hand. Everlast is probabley the best brand out there, don't go cheap though, you will pay for quality but it will last forever. I recently just got a 80 pound water filled heavybag, I'm highly AGAINST IT. Its garbage.

·
Registered
841 Posts
Water filled is garbage and made for sissy's, don't get it. I've heard good things about the Grant 125 lb Heavy bag. I personally like everlast 100lb heavy bags, but there not to kind to kicks, they tend to be fairly hard until you break the section in. And yes, NFFC is correct, there is a MMA forum, for mma fighters.

·
Registered
57 Posts